Image courtesy Kanji Ishii

I had the pleasure of visiting the Museum of Modern Art in NYC a couple of weeks ago, and I was blown away by the number of amazing exhibitions. Looking at Music 3.0 is the third in a series of exhibitions exploring the influence of music on contemporary art practices and focuses on New York in the 1980s and 1990s. I highly suggest you check it out for yourself; you have until June 6 to do so. What’s really cool about it is that it inspires the idea of looking at music, rather than just listening to it.

The exhibit showcases album art, lyrics, music videos, and works of contemporary art inspired by musical pieces. There is a big focus on the boom of hip-hop and the underground scene, the feminist movement and AIDS activism, as well as the birth of remix culture.

Artdaily.org has a great article about the exhibition that you can read HERE.

One particular music video featured in the exhibit has a very special place in my heart. The video for “Buddy Holly” was directed by Spike Jonze and portrays Weezer performing at the original Arnold’s Drive-In diner from the popular 70s TV show Happy Days. The video combines contemporary footage of the band with clips from the show. 

I found Weezer’s Blue Album in my dad’s CD case when I was in 8th grade, and I instantly fell in love.  I had been perusing my dad’s music collection, and it was the most contemporary album I found. My father was killed in a car accident in 1995, and the Blue Album debuted in May 1994. I latched on to Weezer in 8th grade, especially the Blue Album and Pinkerton, and began to enjoy the music in place of my dad.

Here’s the music video for “Buddy Holly” by Weezer. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

